Student Prize winners
Student Prize winners

The School of Biological Sciences recognised its highest-achieving undergraduate students of 2013 with an award ceremony on Friday 28 February.

Six Bachelor of Science students received awards for achieving the highest mark at their first attempt of the major 2nd year courses aligned with the seven discipline areas of the School.

Two students received the School of Biological Science Honours Prize in recognition of their theses achieving the highest Honours result in each of Semester 1 and 2 in 2013.

2013 School of Biological Sciences Undergraduate Student Prizes

The School of Biological Science Honours Prize – Hugh Winwood-Smith

For his thesis entitled:
“Southern Australian populations of the cane toad Rhinella marina show greater thermal metabolic plasticity than their northern counterparts”
Supervised by Craig White

The School of Biological Science Honours Prize – Nicholas Wu

For his thesis entitled:
“Morphology and burrowing energetics of semi-fossorial skinks (Liopholis)”
Supervised by Craig White

The FA Perkins Prize in Entomology – Brodie Foster

The Gordon Grigg Prize in Vertebrate Zoology – Georgia Glidden

The Goodman Foundation Marine Biology Prize – Kristen McNamara

The DA Herbert Prize in Botany – Christina Elmer

The Jiro Kikkawa Ecology Prize – Brodie Foster

The Biological Sciences Genetics Prize – Laura Frederiksen

The Biological Sciences Evolution Prize – Henry North

Go to top